Skilled Knoxville Lawyers Helping You with Driver’s License Suspension in Tennessee
Serving clients in Maryville, Sevierville, Clinton, Lenoir City and Loudon
At Banks and Jones, we know the devastating effects a driver’s license suspension can have on your life, and take these matters as seriously as we would any other type of criminal law matter. You need you license to get to work and/or school, to make sure that there’s food in your cabinets, and to get medical treatment when you need it. We know.
That’s why we Fight 2 Win when it comes to helping you keep your license. If you’re facing a suspension, call us. We’ll create a defense strategy designed to protect your rights and your future.
Reasons your driver’s license may be suspended in Tennessee
Most people know that a DUI can result in a suspended license. However, many other offenses, some that are not so obvious, may deprive you of your driving privileges. Our lawyers provide competent criminal defense counsel to those in danger of losing their license for any of the following reasons:
- Committing manslaughter as a result of negligent or careless driving
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Receiving two convictions for reckless driving within 12 months
- Possessing 5 or more grams of methamphetamines while driving a vehicle
- Using a vehicle while committing a felony
- Failing to stop after being in an accident that killed or injured someone
- Committing vehicle theft
- Failing to pay your traffic tickets
- Drag racing
- Driving away from a gas pump without paying
- Getting too many points on your license
- Failing to pay your court fines
Tennessee’s laws can make it harder to keep your license
Let’s talk a bit about those court fines. The Tennessean reported in early 2017 that “more than 146,000 Tennesseans have had their driver’s licenses revoked since 2012 because of a state law that says court fines that go unpaid for a year result in automatic revocation.” Per their report, only about 7% of people who lost their licenses because of unpaid fines were able to have their licenses reinstated.
And court fines and fees aren’t the only way for you to have your license suspended. If you are in arrears for your child support, meaning that you are not up-to-date with your payments, Tennessee can suspend your license until you pay it back.
In short, if you are in financial straits, the state can take your means of transportation – perhaps your only means of transportation – to get to your job, which in turns means you have no more money coming in, which, of course, leaves you unable to pay for your fines. It’s a nasty cycle.
If you have had your licensed suspended or revoked, you need a Knoxville defense lawyer’s help – fast. You can easily get caught up in the cycle, and having someone in your corner could mean the difference between losing your job and getting your life back on track.
Penalties for driving on a suspended license in Tennessee
If the police stop you while you are driving on a suspended license, it’s in your best interests to seek competent legal help. In Tennessee, driving on a suspended license is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by six months in jail and $500 in fines. Furthermore, if your license was suspended as a result of vehicular assault, vehicular manslaughter or certain other offenses, you must serve a minimum of two days in jail and face a maximum of six months. Also, the penalties for subsequent convictions for driving on a suspended license increase substantially.
Consult with competent defense attorneys in Knoxville on your license suspension
At Banks and Jones, we handle both simple and complex criminal law cases with focus, confidence and experience. To schedule a consultation with one of our experienced defense attorneys, call 865-546-2141 or fill out our contact form. Our office is located within a quarter mile of every major thoroughfare in Knoxville, and free parking is available.